I got to sleep a few hours last night :-)

DSC_0036 (15)

We’re having a rather wonderful morning here, a bit warm perhaps but a cool breeze helps make it all feel very comfortable. It wasn’t that nice while we were out walking early in the morning though, cloudy and the temperature was actually much lower but the humidity was so high it felt nasty just standing still. As soon as the sun started to show the humidity fell and now it’s just right.

 

DSC_0038 (12)

in some places it was quite successful.

In some places it was quite successful.

In other places not so much.

In other places not so much.

I did get some sleep last night, only woke up twice to try and cough my lungs out 🙂 I had fever again last evening but today it was totally gone again. I guess the same thing might happen again today but I can feel a big change now. Yes I’m tired and I still cough some but it doesn’t feel like death would be a nice alternative 🙂 🙂

 

DSC_0041 (11)

DSC_0042 (10)

A few cranes flew by.

A few cranes flew by.

While photographing the other cranes I suddenly had to cough. I didn't know I stood beside all those ones :-)

While photographing the other cranes I suddenly had to cough. I didn’t know I stood beside all these ones 🙂

Yesterday Great Britain voted to leave the EU, today loads of people say they wish they hadn’t voted like they did, a bit late to change ones mind the day after, isn’t it 🙂 600 000 people have signed a petition that they should get the chance to vote again and that will of course not happen. Donald Trump made himself even more unpopular in Scotland than he already is (which is extraordinary since he really is very disliked there) by saying the Scotts had voted to take back their own country by leaving the EU. The nut head hadn’t checked the Scottish results at all, 60% of the Scottish people voted to stay in the EU 🙂 🙂

 

The first Bumblebee beetle for the summer.

The first Bumblebee beetle for the summer. I have no idea what the bronze colored one is called but it can be found everywhere here.

DSC_0050 (9)

DSC_0051 (9)

DSC_0052 (8)

I can fully understand why people want to leave the EU. There’s no transparency in how things work, The entire state machinery is fully corrupted even if it has become slightly better now days but they still give lots of EU funded jobs directly to organized crime. The ones working in the parliament, a place which has very little power at all, make more money in a month than most people do in a few years and very few of them pay any taxes at all. They only have to report to the parliament that they are there and they’ll get paid even if they don’t show up anywhere. Most rules to get EU grants are based to how things are in Southern Europe and not at all to how it is up here in the north, so the EU are now destroying the Swedish cow pastures, they say we have too many trees in our pastures and must cut them down. We’ve always had lots of trees here, it gives shelter for the animals for instance, it keeps the soil erosion at a minimum too and the trees give fire wood for the winter.

 

Last year I got two flowers on my Ahlstromeria, this year it will be covered with them :-) Two mild winters in a row was just what it needed.

Last year I got two flowers on my Alstroemeria, this year it will be covered with them 🙂 Two mild winters in a row was just what it needed. If it likes the garden it is said to be a nasty weed, who cares it is beautiful 🙂

Delphinium oxysepalum.

Delphinium oxysepalum.

Nettle butterfly.

Nettle butterfly.

Nettle butterfly larvae. It feeds mostlt on nettles and it is more than welcome in my garden :-) I hope they'll eat them clean!!!

Nettle butterfly larvae. It feeds mostly on nettles and it is more than welcome in my garden 🙂 I hope they’ll eat them clean!!!

Britain will of course not perish because they’ll leave the EU and since this won’t happen over a night we’ll all get used to the idea and things will run as smoothly as always. The EU however might not be the same after this, suddenly people all over Europe demands to have a right to vote about membership too 🙂 I like the idea of a united Europe but since the leaders seems reluctant to fight corruption and to make changes so that it gets more democratic the best thing would perhaps to let it die and to build up something else and actually try to get the people in Europe to like it too 🙂

 

DSC_0029 (17)

DSC_0030 (15)

Two days ago the first of the fragrance peonies opened up.

Two days ago the first of the fragrance peonies opened up.

Yesterday the second one did.

Yesterday the second one did.

My woodland has now grown outside its area. It is very hard to see but beneath the rhododendron leafs two Aralia relatives grow now. One thorny as hell and one withot thorns. Naturally I can't remember the names on them :-)

My woodland has now grown outside its area. It is very hard to see but beneath the rhododendron leafs two Aralia relatives grow now. One thorny as hell and one without thorns. Naturally I can’t remember the names on them 🙂 It doesn’t help that I have sown them myself either 🙂 Both are bought from my favorite seed seller Garden’s North in Canada.

It is time for a pot of tea and then a nap I think, I have lots of sleep to catch up after this cold from hell.

Have a great day!

10 responses

  1. Visste inte att ni har haft lite halvdåligt väder. 😦 Här har det varit varmt, olidligt varmt (30 grader) och fuktigt – men soligt. Vi åt lunch alldeles nyss (rester efter gårdagens lunch – hemgjord laxtårta), men det var för varmt för att sitta ute! 😦 😦
    Tänk att du har Alströmeria i trädgården. Man kanske ska göra ett försök!? I år har jag två stycken, en starkt rosa och en lila. Jag älskar dom, har en t.o.m. på mitt bankkort och har alltid någon i kruka – men har aldrig kommit på idén att försöka övervintra dom ute. Vet inte varför , men nu ska jag gräva ner don någonstans i höst…..:-) 🙂 🙂
    KRAM
    Susie

    June 25, 2016 at 10:30 am

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Mer solsken än molnigt just nu och lagom varmt med 23gr dessutom en svag men lagom sval vind som fläktar.

      Alströmerian skall helst planteras på våren så att den hinner etablera sig ordentligt, men du bor ju i så bra zon att det kanske funkar ändå. Det är dessutom ett redigt ogräs 🙂 Här håller den sig lugn eftersom det är på gränsen till vad den klarar av klimatmässigt. Jag har sett flera olika färgnyanser på dem i år och härdigheten på dem varierar vad jag förstår. Detta var mitt fjärde försök med den innan den äntligen överlevde vintern

      Ha det gott i värmen 🙂

      Christer.

      June 25, 2016 at 12:28 pm

  2. suz

    really enjoyed your photos today – must be high season all around you. the photos have such nice light/shadow and color saturation, and the landscape ones just after the bumblebee look like paintings on my screen. our peonies are just now gone – i trimmed the spent blooms last night. the peonies weren’t as showy this year, and we did have a milder winter, so it must be “operator error” – i neglected them when they were first coming up. glad your health is improving, if slowly. i once had bronchitis in july – no idea how/where i picked that up. today i have a full load of indoor and outdoor chores – i’m taking a “me” day tomorrow to go on two garden tours in my state. one is free, and the other is a fundraiser for an art museum. otherwise, it’s daylily time: a different one blooms every two or three days, and salvias and veronicas are having a good long season. –suz in ohio/usa

    June 25, 2016 at 3:19 pm

    • Hi suz!

      Yes this is it, from now on it’s going downhill I’m afarid, lots of birds have already stopped singing and geese are preparing to move south.

      There are some peony varieties that must have cold winters to flower well and the ones I have belongs to those I’m afraid. Very few buds this year.

      God knows where we pick up these diseases 🙂 I know I had a work friend who had more or less the same thing as I’ve had but a few weeks earlier than I. She was unlucky to get it when we had that heat wave so she had it for a much longer time.

      It can be really fun going on gardenb tours but I would never have one myself, You should only know how much people steal in those gardens! No tours around here at the moment, I think they start again in Late July. That’s when the most daylilies flower here. I go to a friends garden every year in late July early August, she’s hosting a plant swapping day (i’ll explain more about that when that day comes closer) and it is always when almost all of her daylilies flower, over 320 it was last year 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      June 25, 2016 at 7:18 pm

  3. Hi Christer,
    Lots of lovely photos today. You must be feeling better or at least well enough to walk around a lot more.

    I could use some nettle moth caterpillars here, too. I don’t know what kind of nettle I see growing everywhere around here but there’s a lot of it. The first time I saw it, I thought it was some kind of mint and took hold of the stem to check if it was square. OUCH! Fortunately, I remembered to look for dock plants in the area and sure enough, there were some. It’s not the best solution to the burn but it did help a bit.

    There’s a story going around on Facebook that after the polls closed in the UK the most googled question in the UK was “What is the EU?” Shouldn’t that have been the question before the polls closed? Anyway, I hear that the EU is going to make it a nasty divorce proceeding in order to discourage other nations from leaving. The UK is also in danger of coming apart itself. Scotland is making noises about independence again. Or still. Even Northern Ireland is talking about reunification with the Republic of Ireland. That probably won’t happen but it’s interesting just the same. It’s interesting to see how people will vote against their own best interests just because they’re pissed off at the establishment politicians. I have a bad feeling about our elections in November because there are a lot of people who are that angry and that uninformed.

    But today is much too lovely a day to worry. It’s sunny and warm and I have plans to meet with friends.

    Enjoy your day.

    June 25, 2016 at 5:27 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I managed to take two short walks today 🙂 the second one was sort of nasty because of the high humidity, heat and lack of wind and then add flies to that 🙂 🙂 The sweat just poured off me 🙂
      I was surprised to see how many different stinging nettles there are just here in this country! Some are annuals and they sting even worse. I did however not know that dock plants could help! We have loads of them around and that’s good to know next time! I do hope I’ll get more nettle butterfly larvae here and even better if the Peacock eye butterfly lays egg there too, that is one beautiful butterfly.

      That story seems sadly enough to be true 🙂 My thoughts exactly 🙂
      Lots of problem for Britain with this vote result but Scottland can’t have another vote for independance again without the approval of the British Parliament and I doubt they’ll get that to be honest. They had their chanse and they blew it.

      There are already strong voices in lots of countries demanding their right to vote too, especially in Denmark. Won’t happen here though since it’s only the racist party and the former communists that want to leave the EU. Our parliam,net will never trust us in voting again since we said no to the Euro 🙂 which turned out to be the absolute best thing we’ve done 🙂

      It is so stupid to vote against what one really wants just because one is pissed off 🙂 Yes they will most likely not make it easy for Britain for that reason. Something has happened though and things can’t stay the same after this, I’m just wondering who will win, the ones who will make this more like the US or the ones whowants to take several steps back.

      The pink dandelion opened up today! only half the flower though and I decided to wait photographing it until it opened totally. Turns out it just opens up in the morning and for a short while, then it close again 🙂 🙂 🙂 I’ll see if I can catch it tomorrow.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      June 25, 2016 at 7:32 pm

  4. Dianna

    Hi Christer! I hope the fever Doesn’t come back, enoughnis enough already!! 🙂 🙂 today is a strange weather day. We had a wicked thunderstorm at around 330 this morning and we had sun this morning but it was humid. Now its cloudy and humid and windy. Rain comes in little bursts but leaves just as quick. Now for tomorrow they are calling for rain. I hope this is notngoing to be the pattern for the summer. Nice all week and rain all weekend. Boo. Not much else happened around here today. Laundry and cleaning is the agenda every weekend. Once it gets later in the evening I will take Karma for her walk. Sometimes weekends like this are a good thing! Hope you are feeling much better!!

    June 25, 2016 at 10:54 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      It has so farv stayed away 🙂 the coughing however is still strong as ever. I drove to the grocery store to get some aspirine to get rid of the headache Ibget from all coughing and perhaps it will help to calm down the couging itself too.

      I did hear the thunder once or twice but that was it. I wouldn’t have mind a good thunderstorm to cool down the air and perhaps the humidity too.

      Rain during weekends and nice in between would be our typical weather 🙂 They say rain and thunder around noon today, every time they’ve said that they have been wrong 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      June 26, 2016 at 9:45 am

  5. Christer,
    This cold of yours is about the worst. It seems to just hand on and on. I hope you are on the road to recovery,

    I heard one Trump speech from Scotland, but he was talking about England. I can’t stand to listen to him, can’t stand looking at him either. He has only a shallow knowledge of foreign policy, economics and anything else a president should know. He has gone bank rust several times. About that golf course in Scotland, Trump has claimed he made lots of money, but he declared a huge loss.

    It seems a good portion of the leave the EU vote came from older people. The younger people are angry that there is nothing for them. The baby boomers have taken it all.

    June 25, 2016 at 10:57 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      It seems it finally is giving up now. No more fever but lots of coughing still. How come can I be cough free all day but as soon as I start thinking of going to bed it starts even worse than the night before 🙂 🙂

      I think You’re nice towards Trump if You say he has a shallow knowledge of foreign policy! I doubt he has but I do hope he has some knowledge of economy because he’s not the one to do as others advice him, unless it has to do with offending people.

      The only thing Trump has made in Scottland is enemies, they truly hate him there.

      Yes it was the older who woted for getting out of the EU. Too bad the younger people were too lazy to go out and vote then. Mostly however this seems to have been London people against the rest of the country. Only London in the entire England voted to stay.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      June 26, 2016 at 9:54 am

Leave a Reply

