It finally opened up.

My Pink Dandelion! Only half the flower openbed up yesterday (the deep pink part) and only for an hour or so before it closed again. My guess is that what looks more or less white now will be more pink tomorrow. This is a rare dandelion from the Himalayan mountains. I had lots of small plants last spring but Orvar and Hector ate most of them :-) :-) I really couldn't complain since I always gave them the dug up dandelions from my flowerbeds :-)

My Pink Dandelion! Only half the flower opened up yesterday (the deep pink part) and only for an hour or so before it closed again. My guess is that what looks more or less white now will be more pink tomorrow. This is a rare dandelion from the Himalayan mountains. I had lots of small plants last spring but Orvar and Hector ate most of them πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I really couldn’t complain since I always gave them the dug up dandelions from my flowerbeds πŸ™‚

It is another steam bath day, high humidity and rather warm. There is however a weak wind and it just makes it even worse πŸ™‚ It is like walking around in a steam bath where they have a fan working πŸ™‚ The flies are nasty and they are predicting thunder around noon, I do hope they are right this time. We were supposed to have thunder last night but I could just hear it once or twice from a great distance.

DSC_0039 (13)

Clouds can look just amazing!

Clouds can look just amazing!

DSC_0042 (11)

DSC_0044 (8)

I mowed the lawn yesterday, perhaps not the best idea I’ve had in my life πŸ™‚ I figured that it might be the chance I had because it was supposed to rain during the night and we’ll also have rain several days next week. I divided my garden in to four squares and as soon as I had mowed one square I went inside to drink lots of water and to rest for a while. I have to admit that it was much easier than I thought it would be. The grass was really high but dry so it didn’t fill up the mower around the blades like it always does when the grass is wet. My neighbor took most of what I mow outside the garden, he knew I had that high fever. I have the best neighbors one can get!

 

Finally there's enough water in the clean creak so that Sune can take a bath again :-) Guess if he was happy, he just stood still in that deep hole for a long time :-)

Finally there’s enough water in the clean creak so that Sune can take a bath again πŸ™‚ Guess if he was happy, he just stood still in that deep hole for a long time πŸ™‚

DSC_0033 (17)

DSC_0034 (16)

DSC_0036 (16)

I had to go to the grocery store in Gudhem this morning, cats don’t like it when their food bowl is empty πŸ™‚ I also bought some aspirin, I really can’t take any of those medications since they already have destroyed my stomach but aspirin is one of the few I can take a pill once in a while. I have headache after coughing so much and coffee just don’t help any more. I didn’t see what kind they gave me until I came home, this one is supposed to melt in the mouth. It was one of the most disgusting things I’ve ever had πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ It wasn’t until after I had it I read I could put it in half a glass of water instead πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0031 (17)

DSC_0037 (16)

DSC_0040 (13)

DSC_0041 (12)

I have some laundry to do but that’s it today. I’ll just relax all day and hope that the aspirin helps with the coughing too so that I at least get one night of sleep before work tomorrow πŸ™‚

 

This lily relative and the one in the next photo look very much the same but this one is only half as big. Can't of course not remember the names :-) but I do guess they are very closely related.

This lily relative and the one in the next photo look very much the same but this one is only half as big. Can’t of course not remember the names πŸ™‚ but I do guess they are very closely related.

DSC_0021 (16)

Clematis integrifolia.

Clematis integrifolia.

DSC_0024 (16)

Have a great day!

 

The Bladder Senna is in full bloom now (Colutea arborescens).

The Bladder Senna is in full bloom now (Colutea arborescens).

The blue Jacob's ladder.

The blue Jacob’s ladder.

DSC_0028 (16)

The white Musk mallow always open up a day or two before the pink one. A bit weedy here but easy to remove if they become too many.

The white Musk mallow always open up a day or two before the pink one. A bit weedy here but easy to remove if they become too many.

8 responses

  1. jaz

    hi christer! we are having the same weather here. 90 degrees and humid! i hate it. teddy eats sunflower leaves. i’ve never seen her eat a dandelion. i wish she would, i certainly have enough of them here. maybe i would like minne more if they were pink but i don’t think so! you sure do have good neighbors! all mine do is kill stuff. joyce

    June 26, 2016 at 12:49 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      It has cooled down here and the wind is more cool too thankfully, soon it will be barebly here again. I’m so glad we not even are close to Your 90’s!

      Teddy is the only dog I know do that πŸ™‚ I wonder what it is on sunflower leafs and dandelion leafs that make them so tasty πŸ™‚

      I guess if one only have a few of something one tends to like them more πŸ™‚ If all had been pink they would just have been the same annoying weed πŸ™‚

      Yes my neighbors are the best, I’ve told them all that they never are allowed to move πŸ™‚

      Have a great day despite the heat and humidity!

      Christer.

      June 26, 2016 at 3:20 pm

  2. Hi Christer,
    You should have asked your neighbor to lend you some sheep to mow your lawn. πŸ™‚ I love that photo of the sheep in the meadow. It looks so peaceful.

    I have never heard of aspirin that melts in your mouth. Sounds gross. Maybe it will taste less gross if it’s diluted by water. At least it will get out of your mouth faster that way.

    Today is sunny and cloudless. The weatherperson said this morning that it was going to be 90ΒΊF. It’s 1:30PM and it’s only 74ΒΊ here. I’m not disappointed by that. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    June 26, 2016 at 6:31 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      We have talked about that but I have too many deadly poisonous plants so I don’r dare trying it but I can if I want to πŸ™‚

      It is truly gross and to make it wirse they had tried to make it taste like lemon πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ but it worked so I won’t complain πŸ™‚ I used water next time and it was so much better πŸ™‚

      Mostly cloudy today and just below 68F. A good temperature to start working in πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      June 27, 2016 at 6:09 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer! We are having a wretched weather day here. Gusty winds (70 kmh) from the northwest, rain off and on and just dismal. Can’t do a darn thing outside so I am inside baking. I have made my magic cheesecake and some dream bars. My brother and his family came for a visit and we had tea and popcorn πŸ™‚ (for the kids). Now I am mad because my weekend once again was ruined by weather and I have to work tomorrow and it will be nice all week. We have a long weekend coming up. Friday, July 1 is Canada Day. We are heading to the cottage. Might as well take advantage of the holiday. We could stay in and watch the fireworks but I’d rather head out of the city. I need some peace and quiet. Sorry to read the aspirin was just nasty to taste. They can be quite bitter. I hope the coughing keeps easing up – that’s the worst and always takes the longest to go away. At least the fever has stayed away? I just love clematis but have no where decent where it would grow. I might try the west side of my house, maybe I would have luck. I know they like cold feet and warm heads, so that might be the best place for them. I noticed one of my peony bushes is getting powdery mildew now! Not impressed (mad). I don’t know what it is with my front flower garden. I need to do my research I guess. Well, off to check my baking. I am listening to Enigma – its just one of those days that calls for that kind of music. πŸ™‚ Have a good evening!

    June 26, 2016 at 9:25 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      We’ll have low pressure after low pressure passing here this week, so I’m glad as long as it doesn’t rain when we’re out walking after work. Today was actually quite nice though.

      I would chose the cottage before fireworks πŸ™‚ always!

      To make it even worse they had tried to falvour it with lemon and it was just nasty but it worked quite well if I put it in water first. The fever is gone but the coughing remains, not as bad as during the night though. I woke up at 4 so we went out for our morning walk πŸ™‚ Just enough cool to make the flies calm πŸ™‚
      I always have problems with north american clematis, they die after a year or so. Seems to be picky ones πŸ™‚

      We all have those days, I hope today is better.

      have a great day!

      Christer.

      June 27, 2016 at 6:16 pm

  4. Christer,
    Do those flies ever disappear? It seems you have been attacked but flies for a long time.

    The spawn of Satan knocked over another pot on the deck rail and the pot broke. I’m going to have to buy two pots and some flowers for one of the pots.My deck is now filled with dirt. I moved the feeder it was using but now I can’t see the birds when they eat at it.

    I’m not looking forward to the heat and humidity tomorrow. The good thing is we’ll have a lower temperature because of the ocean.

    Your fever and cough has not let go. It seems to disappear then reappears. I hate being woken by coughing. It is so difficult getting back to sleep. Usually I end up sitting up so I can fall asleep.

    I hope work is okay tomorrow.

    June 27, 2016 at 12:18 am

    • Hi Kat!
      No not really, when one kind dies for the season another one takes over. That’s why I really like warm and dry springs, kills off a lot of fly larvae since they need moist till wet soil to survive. This is so far a good fly year, not many around but unfortunately thoso who do are really annoying πŸ™‚

      You don’t want the spawns and have more than enough, I want them and have none πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Cool here today, we didn’t even reach 68F but it was really nice eraly inthe morning since the flies stays calm when it is chilly. Before I started this blog I never could understand the need for an AC. Now I so understand why You all have it πŸ™‚ I’m so glad that it is a rarity with those temperatures You have, we already have the humidity, I guess that’s why we have so many different mushrooms here, so to put that nasty heat on top of that is a nightmare. The ocean is good for so many things πŸ™‚

      It looks like the fever finally has given up but the coughing still stand strong. We were out walking at 4am today, no use in trying to sleep after one of those attacks.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      June 27, 2016 at 6:24 pm

Leave a Reply

