I don’t feel well but I do feel much better.

The most delicious berry we have I think.

The most delicious berry we have I think.

I’ve been busy these two last days, yesterday so much that I didn’t even check in to the net at all πŸ™‚ I don’t like being busy but I do survive not going out on the internet and that’s always nice to know πŸ™‚ I was however, for quite some time, not sure if In would survive this cold though πŸ™‚ I did and even though I would lie very much if I said I feel fine I do feel better than in a long time.

 

DSC_0022 (17)

All standing photographs are more manageable if You click on them. Geraniums spread like weeds in my garden but they are beautiful so most are allowed to stay.

DSC_0023 (18)

DSC_0024 (17)

DSC_0025 (18)

The coughing comes and goes and I’m quite happy if it only comes around while I’m awake. I did get one full night of sleep last night but the one before was the nastiest I’ve had. I’m not sure I slept at all and could have been a danger on the road to work if something had surprised me. So I’m glad that it was this morning when the doe and her young one decided to walk out on the road just in front of my car.

 

Soon to be red.

Soon to be red.

DSC_0028 (18)

DSC_0029 (19)

The Beekeeper have poppies everywhere and lots of them too.

The Beekeeper have poppies everywhere and lots of them too.

I managed to stop in time and could only laugh when I saw the youngling trying to walk on asphalt, it looked like it was the first time it tried to walk at all πŸ™‚ They really can’t get a good grip on that hard surface. Another animal had not had the same luck during the night, the big road was covered in blood and there were so much of it that it must either have been a wild hog or a moose hit by a lorry. At least it can’t have suffered.

 

DSC_0031 (18)

DSC_0032 (20)

I have two poppies and the second one is tiny.

I have two poppies and the second one is tiny.

DSC_0035 (18)

It is time to get something to eat and I think I’ll have cocoa today, the weather is somewhat chilly and the rain has come and gone all day.

 

My Honeysuckle climbs up a dead old havthorn.

My Honeysuckle climbs up a dead old havthorn.

Pink Foxglove.

Pink Foxglove.

The first tomato turning red.

The first tomato turning red.

The Japanese rose.

The Japanese rose.

 

Have a great day!

 

Aaron's rod.

Aaron’s rod.

The weed of weeds, Nepeta sibirica. The Swedish name is big dragon flower. Can survive in the harshest of climate zones.

The weed of weeds, Nepeta sibirica. The Swedish name is big dragon flower. Can survive in the harshest of climate zones.

8 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer I think by now that cold should really go and find another host – enough already cold. Ridiculous. The exclamation point on my keyboard at work isn’t working today so I can’t really say it with feeling if I don’t have my exclamation point but you get what I mean :). Everything will have a period. I hope that this weekend will be the last one for this illness and you will start to feel human again. We are cold and cloudy today. I think if it gets to 20 we will be lucky. Yesterday we had hot and humid and a few thunderstorms and wind. Such strange weather. I am pretty sure those big dragon flower weeds are the same purple ones we have too. We also have purple loosestrife which used to be invasive but I think its gotten under control the past few years. We have Canada’s birthday tomorrow so its a holiday for us. We are heading up to the cottage and will be home on Sunday. A bit of peace and quiet is just what the doctor ordered πŸ™‚ I hope you have a good evening and lovely weekend. There was supposed to be an exclamation point at the end of that sentence πŸ™‚

    June 30, 2016 at 7:07 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      It might have found a new home, a work friend just got the same high fever I had a week ago. The coughing however is still hanging around πŸ™‚

      It is always annoying when the keyboard starts acting weird πŸ™‚

      Warmish and mostly cloudy with rain here today and it will rain all the weekend but it varies rather much depending on when looking at the predictions and what company makes them. We might get heavy thunderstorms with lodas of rain or just light showers with lots of sunshine in between πŸ™‚
      We have the loosestrife closer to the creeks and it sure is invasive, it is thankfully too dry here in the village. The dragon flower however is clear blue, it is the light in the photograph that plays tricks with our eyes. It has however close relatives that are purple and most of these species tends to spread happily πŸ™‚

      Happy Canada Day and enjoy the weekend up at the cottage!

      Christer.

      July 1, 2016 at 2:06 pm

  2. Christer,
    Everything is just so green. I envy you that. We haven’t had rain for days. Your geraniums don’t look at all like my geraniums. Mine are red and round, like a cluster. I have a few in my deck boxes.

    I’m glad you got at least one good night’s sleep as that is the best cure. My coughs generally are also so bad I also can’t sleep unless I sit up in bed. I’m happy to say I didn’t get one ;ike that this winter.

    I hadn’t seen any coyotes around but they are. My neighbor has a little dog which stays in her yard because of an electric fence. She and the dog were outback when a coyote came in the yard and snatched the dog. My neighbor yelled and screamed and threw things at the coyote. It dropped her dog. They are brazen creatures.

    Gracie is too big to be coyote bait, and my yard also has that 6 foot fence around it. Before the fence I had seen paw prints in the backyard passing through. It was a coyote who was using my yard to cut through to another road.

    Today is fair less humid so it is mote comfortable.

    I’m hoping you sleep well tonight also!

    Get Better!!

    June 30, 2016 at 7:29 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      Yes everything is still bright green here, all therain that has fallen lately saved the trees and bushes from getting yellow and dry. Your geraniums are most likely pelargoniums πŸ™‚ They belonged to the same family as the geraniums long ago but when the rest of the world started to use pelargoniums instead many English speaking countries didn’t. WE actually still have one pelargonium that we still calle geranium, Rose geranium. I can’t understand why it is called rose because it leafs smell and it more towards cat pee πŸ™‚

      Tonight I only woke up once and managed to fall asleep again so I’m not as tired as before thankfully. I tried to sit up and sleep but it didn’t work especially well, otherwisae that’s the beat way to keep the coughing away.

      I’m glad it dropped the dog! I’m extra careful every time I know we have wolves in the neighborhood, they would have taken even such a big dog as Orvar was. No coyotes here thankfully but I think Nova would have made life hard for any coyote who tried to take her or Sune πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Grey and dull mostly here with some rain and high huimidity, not fun but I don’t cough as much when it is like that πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      July 1, 2016 at 2:15 pm

  3. Hi Christer,
    Your garden is beautiful. Those geraniums are spectacular.
    I chuckled when I saw the berries. This morning I was checking out all the black raspberry patches in my neighborhood that I know about. Nothing yet. My neighbor has trimmed the lower branches on the mulberry tree so I won’t be able to steal any of those when they ripen. I’m pretty sure he doesn’t know what they are and only trimmed it because the branches scratch his car when he parks back there.

    I bet I could kill the big dragon flower. I am Death of Mint. Seriously. The mint that has been struggling out there in the yard for several seasons finally gave up the ghost. The columbine overwhelmed what little was left. Now something is eating the columbine. Probably shrews or moles. One plant disappeared into a hole in the ground leaving behind only the identification label. Nice of the critter to leave me some idea of what should be there. πŸ™‚

    The weather here is reasonable again. Not so hot or humid as yesterday. It’s supposed to rain sometime tomorrow or Saturday. We need it very badly so I hope it does.

    Enjoy the evening. May your cough let you sleep soundly.

    June 30, 2016 at 8:52 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      They are beautiful but they spread a bit too happily here πŸ™‚ Easy to remove though so they aren’t a big problem and they’ll fill out any empty space πŸ™‚
      You do have the gift but even You would have to put some extra energy in to killing this one πŸ™‚ I have it in a bit plastic tub, never give them water or fertilizer and still it comes back even bigger than the year before πŸ™‚
      I was thinking of buying some black raspberry bushes but they are marked as not ehough hardy but then again the climate change might have changed the zone that much that it could work anyway.

      It is strange how some animals survive eating toxic plants like columbines πŸ™‚ or Hellebores like the deer do here. They are also very bitter so it can’t be especially tasty. still they eat them and seems to love it πŸ™‚ Our voles never leave the identificaton label, they are so rude πŸ™‚

      The weather predictions change every hour and no company predicts the same. They said, on tv, we’ll most likely get lots of thunder tomorrow so I’m sticking to that prediction πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      July 1, 2016 at 2:23 pm

      • So far I am only missing the one columbine so perhaps the columbine eating critter learned a bitter lesson. πŸ™‚

        July 1, 2016 at 5:04 pm

      • πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        July 1, 2016 at 8:22 pm

Leave a Reply

