We are all waiting for the second one.

Not taken today. I like it even if it is bad in so many ways :-)

Not taken today. I like it even if it is bad in so many ways 🙂

I went to work this morning, I had only coughed so I woke up once and felt almost close to feeling less bad 🙂 Fridays are half days and I start with washing the paint box and it’s rather an easy job. We also have a meeting every Friday that is around half an hour long and with the breakfast break there isn’t much hard work to do 🙂 An easy start I thought and after half an hours work I wished I had stayed at home 🙂 The rest of the day was easy though and today we had a big meeting when we had alcohol free glögg, a kind of mulled wine, gingerbread and Lussekatter (saffron buns).

 

DSC_0002

DSC_0003

DSC_0004

 

We who work at the factory gave our yule present to the owner family and they gave us ours from them. This year we got a bottle Blueberry and Lingonberry mulled wine (not alcohol free) and a bottle of sparkling wine called Freixenet Carta Nevada (and we also got a box of chocolates 🙂 ). I love mulled wine but am not a wine person otherwise but I tend to like white sparkling wine so this will most likely go down too :-)I think we gave them dinner in a restaurant in the biggest city (or town is perhaps a better word) and tickets to the movies.

 

DSC_0005

There's so much water in the bog right now that new small creeks are being created.

There’s so much water in the bog right now that new small creeks are being created.

DSC_0007

 

When I came home I saw something odd, I thought I saw a slightly fat spaniel running around outside the garage but very quickly disappearing behind the wood shed. I jumped out the car and walked on that side to see if I could find and holes in the ground where a slightly fat spaniel might have come out from 🙂 The odd thing was that there was no hole and the slightly fat spaniel ran around on the other side of the fence? 🙂 So I walked back to the car and to my big surprise I found that the slightly fat spaniel, also called Sune ran past me to the car 🙂 🙂 🙂

 

DSC_0008

DSC_0009

DSC_0010

 

So I walked back with a very happy spaniel by my feet and started looking again. It turns out that there’s a gap in the fence at the bottom of it, towards the ground. It was almost impossible to see but big enough for Sune to squeeze through. So the first thing I had to do was to tighten that fence towards the ground which showed to be impossible. So instead I now have some boards nailed to the fencepost and hooked to the fence itself. Sune isn’t a dog that continues to try something if it fails the first time, thankfully 🙂 If it had been Nova finding that hole I would have to rebuild the entire dog yard this weekend, she never gives up 🙂 🙂 🙂

 

There's a rather big, very old tree stump in the forest that I like a lot. It is so old that even the tree fungus is very old and now covered with both lichens and mosses.

There’s a rather big, very old tree stump in the forest that I like a lot. It is so old that even the tree fungus is very old and now covered with both lichens and mosses.

DSC_0015

Tree funguses don't rot, they just get old and wood like. Here's one totally covered in moss.

Tree funguses don’t rot, they just get old and wood like. Here’s one totally covered in moss.

 

 

We are all waiting for the storm now, I’ve placed everything that I can’t tie somewhere  in the garage now and I’ll go outside to pick in more fire logs just in case it’s bad tomorrow morning so I rather stay indoors 🙂 But it seems the storm will go much further south than they first predicted, they have changed it from hurricane wind to strong gale here in this area. it will be a hurricane where it hits further south though. We might get lots of snow though but it seems it will be mixed with some rain but then again, they predict the temperature will drop to 0C (32F) and that usually means below that here. Could be some nice photos if the snow stays for some hours.

 

DSC_0017

DSC_0018

DSC_0019

 

So it feels just right to watch the movie The Day After Tomorrow this evening 🙂 There’s nothing like watching a disaster film while there’s a storm howling outside the windows 🙂

Have a great day!

8 responses

  1. Hi Christer,
    Well, that was a busy working day. And wine, too! Not bad.

    It’s wonderful how dogs can manage to find their way out of someplace but when they want to go back, it’s suddenly impossible to retrace their steps. It’s as if all dog escape portals are one way. 🙂

    It looks like a little tree is growing on that old stump. I guess there would be lots of nutrients there what with all the fungi and lichens growing there.
    Nice shot. Are you using the macro setting on the telephoto lens?

    Here it is still grey, damp, dreary. The was briefly bright early this morning and there was a suggestion of the presence of a sun-like object behind the clouds but it disappeared. My weather widget says it’s supposed to be partly cloudy. All the parts are cloudy.

    Enjoy the day and I hope the weather is not too bad for you.

    December 12, 2014 at 5:51 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I guess the day had been better if I drank the wine at work, at least it would have been funnier 🙂 🙂

      I just couldn’t figure out how he managed to get out 🙂 I saw him and then suddenly he was inside the dog yard and then he was in front of me again 🙂 🙂 I’m so glad Nova isn’t aware of that hole because she would never give up trying to get out again 🙂 The good thing is that she most likely just would jump in to the garden waiting for me there 🙂

      Yes it is a little tree and I’m surprised that there’s just one little tree, normallty there’s lots more in those old big tree stumps but it did have lots of fungi instead. No I stood a few yards away from the tree using the telephoto part of the lens, much easier to be honest 🙂

      It’s raining here but I think I saw a few snow flakes in it. I wouldn’t be surprised if we get rain the entire night instead of snow. It was so exiting to see that thing we call the sun 🙂 We might even see it again on Sunday, the entire day! I better find my sunglasses so I don’t go blind 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 12, 2014 at 7:03 pm

      • PS; Your card arrived in the mail this afternoon. Thank you. It’s lovely.
        Is it one from the Hasselblad or am I misremembering? 🙂

        It took me a second to figure out what was on the stamp. At first I thought it was a sword guard but then I saw the other image and realized I was so very wrong. 🙂

        December 12, 2014 at 9:21 pm

      • Already 🙂 I thought it as best would arrive in middle of next week 🙂
        Yes it is one from the Hasselblad.

        I can’t remember how those stamps looked, I just bought them, put them on the envelopes and posted them directly 🙂

        Christer.

        December 13, 2014 at 6:28 am

  2. Dianna

    Hi Christer! I hope tomorrow finds you feeling better! What a nice present(s) you got! And lucky you for only half a day today! I wish my Fridays were like that. We are still melting and its lovely!! Messy on the roads but I will take it! Next week we go back to the minus double digits. Bummer!!! I could only imagine your surprise at the spaniel sighting!! Good grief they are clever animals aren’t they? I bet she was so happy to see you! 🙂 I love the forest photos today. The moss and lichen, so perfect!! Have a good evening, keep safe from your storm!

    December 12, 2014 at 7:09 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      My throat feels worse today but at least the coughing has stopped for the moment. One has to be happy for the small victories 🙂

      I do like my Fridays 🙂

      I hope it all melts away before it freeze again! It looks like it will stay warmish here most of the time, I don’t mind minus degrees (unless they are below -10 🙂 but I really don’t like snow!

      Yes I was rather surprised 🙂 He was happy but he knew at the same time that he had done somnething he wasn’t supposed to 🙂

      It was nice to walk around in a forest that wasn’t dark and gloomy for once 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 12, 2014 at 7:23 pm

  3. Robin Larkspur

    Love all the fungal photos today! I am sure Sune thought he was a very smart dog to have figured out how to exit the dog yard. I hope you don’t get too much snow.

    December 12, 2014 at 9:55 pm

    • Hi Robin!

      I really like those old moss covered ones!

      I bet he thought that 🙂 and he was so happy running around outside the fence 🙂

      I just looked out the door and there’s no snow at all and I haven’t heard the wind howl at all 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 13, 2014 at 6:31 am

Leave a comment